Skip Navigation
Print This Page  Print

May 03, 2024  |  News Category: Hospice News

The 38th edition of the Scotland Regional Hospice golf tournament took place on Tuesday and Wednesday at Scotch Meadows country club. The event, which has raised more than $4.7 million since this inception in 1987, finished with just over $180,000 in donations for this year‘s campaign.  All proceeds from the Golf tournament benefit end of life and bereavement services provided by Scotland Regional Hospice.

Each year, the fundraiser is a two-day affair with each day acting as its own individual competition. Awards and prizes are given to teams that finish in the top 1/3 of the field and there are several individual prizes as well.  This year‘s tournament saw its highest golfer participation in over a decade with 232 hitting the course in support of hospice.

Bunny Hasty, the volunteer coordinator at Scotland Regional Hospice, leads the event’s golf tournament committee.  The committee members, all volunteers, include Nancy Adcock, Laura Adams, Mary Jo Adams, Bill Hill, JoJo Hunt, Peggy Lewter, Kim Liles, Anna McMillan, Tommy Parker, Charlotte Pilson, Deane Pullen, Kim Sheppard and Ruby Williamson.  The committee members spent the better part of four months reaching out to long time supporters as well as potential new donors to request their participation as sponsors, golfers, silent auction contributors, in-kind supporters and volunteers.  Their efforts did not disappoint as they raised $108,000 in sponsorships and collected over 250 silent auction items.

“We are always surprised at how generous and supportive this community is each year,” shared Hasty.  “We had 20 first time sponsors and more golfers than we have seen in many years.  Our auction room overflowed with donations forcing us to be creative and put auction items all over the clubhouse.  Our volunteer committee did an amazing job.  In a time when so many local events are struggling, we are blessed with a community of supporters who keep us going strong.”

The Scotland Regional Hospice golf tournament has been sponsored by Golf Pride for its entire 38-year run.  A nearly four-decade relationship between an international manufacturing, sales and distribution company and a small, rural healthcare provider seems unlikely, but with the unwavering support of Golf Pride, the tournament is not only surviving, but growing.  Also along for the ride has been Scotch Meadows Country Club, the event’s host, which has been home to the hospice tournament since the beginning. 

Following play on Wednesday, golfers and sponsors were welcomed to the club house to participate in the evening’s closing ceremony.  Guests enjoyed dinner, drinks and smooth jazz music from The Jim Morgan Jazz Group before being welcomed by new Scotland Regional Hospice administrator Missy Smith.  Longtime hospice nurse Sue Kirby followed Smith with a brief history of the organization. Golf Pride’s James Ledford and Carol Thomas provided a message from Golf Pride and recognized the new tournament sponsors.
Hasty then took part in another of the event’s staple, the Lawson’s Gift raffle drawing.  Each year the McCabe Family donates jewelry to be raffled off as part of the tournament’s fundraising efforts.  The donation is made in memory of Lawson McCabe, the longtime owner of Bob’s Jewel Shop in downtown Laurinburg.  This year’s donation as a beautiful diamond necklace and earring set.  With the McCabe family unable to attend, Hasty selected the winning ticket in their absence pulling recurring hospice tournament golfer Kenny Allen’s name as the winner.

Claudette McIntyre, a tournament volunteer who manages the kitchen and lunch duties each year, was the recipient of the annual Emma McInnis Award for Excellent Volunteer Service.  McIntyre works diligently behind the scenes at the event with many tournament participants unaware of her contributions to the event or even her presence.  Hundreds of golfers and guests are treated to meals and snacks throughout both days of the two-day event, and the kitchen volunteer team led by McIntyre makes that possible.  The award gets its name from precious, longtime hospice supporter Emma McInnis and the award is presented each year at the event by her daughter Maggie Wells.

The evening continued with an announcement of the tournament winners by Chip Wells followed by a live auction led by John Horne.  Horne also led the annual Heads and Tails game giving attendees an opportunity to win a large wine basket and the tournament concluded with the announcement of total funds raised.

“We want to thank everyone who makes this event possible,” said Hasty.  It takes hundreds of people contributing in many different ways to pull this off each year and we can’t thank them enough.  It’s not just a fundraiser, it’s a tradition.  We can’t wait until next year.

Tuesday, April 30 winners

Closest to the pin award winners
• Hole #2 Drew Ingram
• Hole #7 Jim Ulrich
• Hole #12 Jim Ulrich
• Hole #17 Ross Carlyle

Longest Putt
• Hole #9 Charles Locklear
• Hole #18 Tommy Hogan

Team Winners
• 8th Place – Matt Walker, Zac Whited, David Marsh, Will Morgan
• 7th Place – Jim Ulrich, Steve Carter, Mark Reinemann, Rod Brecheisen
• 6th Place – Derek Howell, Sandy Wayne Robinson, DeWayne Miller, Eddie McLean
• 5th Place – Justin Strickland, Trey Martin, Ryan Tyson, Matt Oliver
• 4th Place – Drew Ingram, Barrett Davis, Andy Davis, Grant Ficklin
• 3rd Place – Chris Carpenter, Dan Wright, Mike Davis, DeWayne Williams
• 2nd Place – William Carter, Ed Wright, Wilson Hicks, Chad Hodgin 
• 1st Place – Ben Stanton, Curt Hinson, James Weaver, Ricky Covington (53)

Wednesday, May 1 winners

Closest to the pin award winners
• Hole #2 Joel Hartwell
• Hole #7 Blake Dean
• Hole #12 Blake Dean
• Hole #17 Chip Wells

Longest Putt
• Hole #9 James Ledford
• Hole #18 Boyd McLaurin

Team Winners
• 8th Place – Glenn Webb, Curt Hinson, James Deaton, Mike Ashley
• 7th Place – Iain Dainter, Rick Alexander, Steve Recker, Ralph Carter
• 6th Place – Bill Hill, John Horne, Bob Cresante, James Ledford
• 5th Place – Robert Hoadley, Alex Nianoris, Evan Hauben, Chad Collins
• 4th Place – Steve Pullen, Chris Rogers, Robert Floyd, Dick Stang
• 3rd Place – Dennis Hunt, Wendell Hunt, Blake Dean, LeMark Harris
• 2nd Place – Tab Broome, David Grant, Joel Hartwell, Chip Wells
• 1st Place – Jansen Perdue, Andy Erickson, Morgan Hale, Adam Rowen (56)