Skip Navigation
Print This Page  Print

June 07, 2023  |  News Category: Hospital News, Hospice News

2023 Nurse Residents Social

(Photo: Nurse residents and leaders gather at the Dulin Center following the nurse resident graduation ceremony)

On Tuesday morning, thirty nurses were celebrated at the Scotland Health Care System nurse resident graduation ceremony in the Dulin Center on the campus of Scotland Memorial Hospital.  The goal of the nurse residency program is to provide nurse graduates with an orientation that fosters a supportive transition form novice nurse graduate to an engaged, competent nurse.

The program combines classroom training with on-the-job experience as each nurse resident receives department specific guidance from Scotland Health’s team of nurse leaders.  Meetings with fellow residents take place monthly with discussions focused on support, education and professional development.

The 2022-23 class spent their time serving multiple departments throughout the hospital including: emergency center, telemetry, women’s services, hospice, PCU, ICU, surgical services and Med Surg/Peds.

Each nurse resident was individually recognized by their department leader during the graduation ceremony.  The leaders designed and presented personalized awards for each nurse based on characteristics like personality, positivity, creativity, compassion, work ethic, and proactivity with some recognitions created in jest, but all capturing a genuine strength that each nurse brings to his/her role as a nurse.

Then, the residents received their certificates from Scotland Health chief nursing officer Bebe Holt and clinical orientation / student coordinator Jennifer Maynor before enjoying lunch catered by the hospital cafeteria team.  

The nurse residents recognized at the ceremony were Raynas Zangana, Haley Leggett, Ryan Doren, Raeanna Baines, Tia Muse, April Allen, Alondra Leyva Hernandez, Madison Wilkes, Jaylen Lowery, Brianna Campbell, Nicole Ventura, Allyson Warren, Destiny Strickland, Melissa Alred, Christy Hunt, Abigail Locklear, Alanis Maynor, Destinae McRae, Amanda Plata, Myranda McIntyre, Lainey Ara, Dakota Locklear, Constance Oxendine, Hannah Locklear, Nami Montgomery, Destiney Jacobs, Lyndsay Revels, Ambria Jacobs, Kristy Green and Raenah Graham.

Congratulations to each Nurse Resident and we thank you for the quality care and compassion you give every day to our patients.